A point of clarification on Islam

As I’ve read over my own posts, I feel the need to clarify some things on Islam. I’ve used terms like “radical Islam” and “Islamofascists”. By using these words I do not mean to paint all Muslims with a wide brush. I value America’s tolerant ethic towards all religions. When I use terms like “Islamofascists” I am not being derogatory towards peaceful, moderate Muslims who just want to worship Allah, raise a family, and live their lives. I am not using the term to refer to them, but rather to terrorist groups like Al Qaeda, who have a very strict ideology that they want to apply to everyone–hence the “fascist” part of the term. There are some who take issue with associating groups like Al Qaeda with Islam, because many Muslims are so reviled by what they are doing they don’t consider them as Muslim. The only reason I use these terms is that despite their own distance from the ideal of Islam, they are still linked to the Islamic culture in some way. There is a wider scope to this than just the Muslim religion. There is also Muslim culture. And within that culture there are many who support Osama bin Laden. They may be ignorant of Islam and the Koran, but still they are a part of the wider Muslim culture, particularly in the Middle East. I don’t say this really to demean the culture, just pointing out a reality.

Ideally what I’d like to see happen is the Middle Eastern Muslim culture reform itself, so that extremism of the likes of Al Qaeda is shunned and unsupported.

I will continue to use these terms. I just wanted readers to understand how I am using them, and that by no means do I mean it to apply to all Muslims.

3 Responses to A point of clarification on Islam

  1. Shirley says:

    Of course, those terms do not apply to all Muslims. But the scary thing is that it does apply to many.

    Thank you for your observations.

    Blessings,

    Shirley Buxton
    http://www.writenow.wordpress.com

  2. PIBoulder says:

    Hi Shirley. You’re the first to commenter on my blog. Welcome!

    I hadn’t been catching any flack for using these terms. I tend to review what I’ve posted from time to time. I looked over some recent ones and thought that some people might take my use of these terms the wrong way.

    Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

