Merry Christmas

I’ve been busy this holiday season, so I haven’t been writing as much. I figured I could get this in though.

We got hit with a whallop on Wednesday. It was the worst winter storm I’ve seen in 10 years, though I’ve heard that Denver and areas south of there got hit by a similar storm 3 years ago.

Here are some things I’ve heard on the news tonight.

People are still stranded at DIA, though it sounds like the airlines are doing the best they can to get things back to normal. They’re pulling in extra airplanes and personnel from across the country to make up for the temporary shutdown. Unfortunately some people may not get to where they’re going for Christmas. This storm came at a really bad time. For some, I’m seeing images from the movie “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”. I hope that doesn’t happen to anybody, but I’ve been hearing that some have given up on trying to fly where they’re going and are taking cars and buses. I hope they have a safe trip.

A young lady I saw interviewed was trying to get from California to her parents’ place. She said she is heading back to California, because she didn’t want to spend Christmas in the airport. I felt sorry for her, but I don’t blame her either.

I applaud the road crews who have been working long hours to plow the roads all over Colorado. You’re making it possible for us mere mortals to not be snowbound this Christmas, and we can finish up our shopping. Thank you!

The Post Office in Colorado was working limited hours on Wednesday, and was closed down on Thursday. So mail and Christmas packages have been getting backed up as well. I heard on the news tonight that the Post Office is allowing 2,000 Post Office workers to volunteer to deliver mail and packages on Sunday and Monday–Christmas day! That is dedication! Thank you, Post Office! I really wasn’t expecting this.

Merry Christmas everybody!

Leave a Reply

